التأريخ:

إن الهدف من التأريخ هو الحصول على العمر الزمني، بالطرق العلمية الفيزيائية، من المواقع الأثرية ومواقع المتحجرات. وبالرغم من أن هناك تقدم ملموس في فهم التسلسل المرحلي البيئي للفترات الرطبة والجافة في الجزيرة العربية، إلا أن عمر المواقع الأثرية التي تعود للعصر الحجري القديم أو مواقع المتحجرات غير متوفرة بالقدر الكافي.

CIMG0109--TS-JK1-Trench--5ولجمع معلومات كافية عن البلايستوسين المبكر والمتوسط، فإن المشروع بحاجة إلى الحصول على تواريخ بالطرق الفيزيائية مثل طريقة الوهج الضوئي وطريقة أرجونات البوتاس. سيتم استخدام هذه الطرق لتأريخ الطبقات المترسبة في مواقع المتحجرات بصحراء النفود في الجزء الشمالي من المملكة العربية السعودية، وفي طبقات المواقع الأثرية في موقع الدوادمي وفي موقع وادي فاطمة قرب البحر الأحمر.

وبالنسبة للفترة من البلايستوسين الوسيط وحتى الهولوسين، فإن الطبقات المترسبة التي سيتم مسحها من مواقع جٌبة وبحيرات المندفن ومواقع البقايا الحيوانية المتحجرة بالنفود، وحوض واديي الباطن والسهباء ستؤرخ باستخدام مجموعة من التقنيات، والتي تشمل طريقة الوهج الضوئي وتسلسل اليورانيوم لرواسب الينابيع ومصبات الأنهار.

Geochronology

The goal is to obtain chronometric ages from archaeological and palaeontological sites. Although recent progress has been made in understanding the phasing of wet and arid periods in the Arabian Peninsula, ages are not generally available for Palaeolithic sites or palaeontological localities.

CIMG0109--TS-JK1-Trench--5To gather data for the Early-Middle Pleistocene, the project will use geochronological dating techniques such as thermally-transferred optically stimulated luminescence (TT-OSL) and K-Ar dating methods. Those methods will be used to date sediments at the palaeontological sites in the Nefud desert in the northern part of the Arabian Peninsula, at the archaeological sections at the sites along the hill slopes near the modern town of Dawadmi in the centre of the Peninsula, and at the Wadi Fatimah river channel near the Red Sea.

For the Later Middle Pleistocene to Holocene periods, sedimentary deposits from the Jubbah and Mundafan palaeolakes, the Nefud faunal localities, and the Wadi al-Batin / Wadi as Sahba river basin survey will be dated through a combination of techniques, including TT-OSL and Uranium series dating on springs and travertine deposits. Pilot field work at Jubbah indicates the presence of appropriate material for radiocarbon dating, for example, charcoal and ostrich eggshells.